Volume LVIIAugust 2010Number 3

John Wanamaker Masonic Humanitarian Medal Recipient

Helen Snedden, Supreme Deputy, Rainbow for Girls, was honored with the John Wanamaker Masonic Humanitarian Medal by R.W. Grand Master Sturgeonon June 26 at the Masonic Village at Elizabethtown's Centennial Banquet. Mrs. Snedden, the eighth recipient of this honor since its inception in 1993, was recognized for her continued support of the ideals and philosophy of the Masonic fraternity.

Educational Endowment Fund

The Educational Endowment Fund Committee of the Pennsylvania Masonic Youth Foundation recently selected 25 students to receive $33,500 in scholarship awards. The annual program runs from Oct.-March 15, when applications may be submitted. There were 205 applications this year, representing students from 49 counties in the Commonwealth. Recipients were:

$1,000 Lawrence Dietrich Smith Memorial Scholarships
- Michael C. Ferraro, Emily Horvath, Katherine A. Wells
$2,000 Harry M. Ormston Scholarship
- Jennifer Jean Bush
$750 Harry M. Ormston Scholarship
- Kaitlyn Knopp, Jessica Mills
$2,000 Raymond A. Krome Scholarship
- Heidi Greiner, Marie Lynn Shiptoski, Emily Elizabeth Smith, Carrie C. Spicer, Ross Stock, Christopher M. Taylor, Rachel Sabrina Wells
$1,000 Raymond A. Krome Scholarship
- Christopher Gary Hartman, Brandon Lobb, Carrie L. Shafer, Sara Swentko, Jill Marie Weiskopf, Megan Nicole Frazer, Gabrielle Victoria Kalus, Erin Nicole Kile
$250 Loretta N. Scheirer Nursing Scholarship
- Christopher M. Taylor
$1,000 Charles & Phyllis Schaeffer Scholarship
- Michael L. Brown
$250 Abraham C. Treichler Lodge No. 682 Scholarship
- Carrie C. Spicer
$1,000 Barbara R. Carson O.E.S. Scholarship
- Jennifer Walters, Alyssa Brooke Crile
$500 Barbara R. Carson O.E.S. Scholarship
- Megan D. Runser
$500 Job's Daughters Stillman Leadership Scholarship
- Mary Elizabeth Noble

In addition, the Committee awarded five Pennsylvania Masonic Acacia Fraternity Scholarships totaling $6,500 on behalf of the Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania:

$2,000 Acacia Fraternity Scholarship
- Matthew Regis Nebel, Robert A. Zazac, III
$1,000 Acacia Fraternity Scholarship
- Matthew T. Gardner, Benjamin E. Kittka
$500 Acacia Fraternity Scholarship
- Edward J. Taylor, Jr.

There were many deserving students who applied, but the awards are limited to the income from the Educational Endowment Fund, which only grows through YOUR contributions. The Masonic Scholarship Resource Guide for the 2011 program and the 2011 application will be available Oct. 1. The application and the scholarship summaries are always current and available on the Internet at http://www.pmyf.org.

HODEGOS Honorees for 2010

The Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania is pleased to announce and congratulate the HODEGOS Class of 2010: Bro. J. Michael Larkin of Pilgrim Chapter, Harrisburg, and Mrs. Debra J. Vanek from Elizabethtown Chapter, Order of DeMolay; Ms. Teresa Kuhns of Bethel No. 7, Columbia, and Bro. Thomas R. Kepler from Bethel No. 1, York, of the Order of Job's Daughters; and Mrs. Kathryn A. Geary of Sunshine Assembly No. 41, Tunkhannock, and Mrs. P. J. O'Neill, of Pitcairn Assembly, from the Order of the Rainbow for Girls.

The HODEGOS Award, established in 2005 by the Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania to recognize the outstanding efforts of volunteers for the Masonic youth groups in Pennsylvania, is given to truly outstanding adult leaders of the youth programs. The award takes its name from the Greek word hodegos, meaning "a leader, a guide and an instructor of the inexperienced," and is administered by the Pennsylvania Masonic Youth Foundation.

The HODEGOS Award is given to volunteers who have a minimum of seven years of service to a DeMolay Chapter, a Job's Daughters Bethel or a Rainbow Girl Assembly in Pennsylvania. The award consists of a solid gold, hand-crafted oval bearing the word HODEGOS, written in Greek. The emblem may be worn as a lapel pin, or crafted into a necklace drop for ladies.

Table of Contents | Index of Issues | Home